Ultimate Guide to the Best LED Grow Lights for Indoor Gardening in 2026

Best LED Grow Lights for Indoor Gardening in 2026: A Practical Buying Guide

Prices and specifications in this guide were checked on September 19, 2026.

Choosing an LED grow light comes down to three questions. How large is the area you need to light? What are you growing — seedlings and herbs need a fraction of the light a fruiting or flowering canopy demands? And how many hours a day will it run, since electricity is the cost that keeps arriving long after the box does? Answer those three and the field narrows fast. The best LED grow lights for a kitchen herb shelf and for a 5’×5’ flowering tent are different machines at very different prices, and buying more light than your plants can use wastes money twice: once at checkout and again on every power bill.

A note on who’s writing: this guide is published by Green Light Depot, and two of the six lights below — the 660W and 960W Shark Series — are products we sell. We say so wherever it matters, we haven’t placed them in categories they don’t fit, and where a light we don’t stock is the better tool for the job, we recommend it and link to where it’s sold. Recommendations here are based on manufacturer documentation, university extension research, and published pricing, not on our own laboratory testing.

Quick picks: the best LED grow lights by situation and budget

  • Starting seeds or lighting a plant shelf on a budget: Barrina 4-ft T5 strip lights — about $93 for eight lights (sold elsewhere)

  • A first grow tent, one or two plants, 2’×2’: Spider Farmer SF1000 ($69.99) or Mars Hydro TS1000 ($79.99) — both sold elsewhere

  • A 4’×4’ tent: AC Infinity IONFRAME EVO6 ($579, sold elsewhere) or the 660W Shark Series ($629.95) if you value a longer warranty and silent, fanless cooling

  • High-yield growing in a 5’×5’ tent or serious hobby room: 660W Shark Series

  • Commercial rooms, multi-fixture layouts, and humid environments: 960W Shark Series ($809.95)

  • One or two houseplants: you may not need a dedicated fixture at all — see the houseplant guidance further down this page.

The lights compared

Light Best fit Actual watts Coverage (and conditions) Price (checked Sept 19, 2026) Main strength Main limitation
Barrina T5 4-ft, 8-pack (sold elsewhere) Best fit Seed starting, shelf gardens Actual watts 20W per light Coverage (and conditions) One strip per row of trays, hung a few inches above foliage Price (checked Sept 19, 2026) $92.99 per 8-pack Main strength Cheapest way to light shelving; links up to 8 in a series Main limitation Not intense enough for fruiting or flowering plants; warranty not stated on product page
Spider Farmer SF1000 (sold elsewhere) Best fit First 2’×2’ tent, 1–2 plants Actual watts 100W Coverage (and conditions) Manufacturer rating: 3’×3’ veg, 2’×2’ flower Price (checked Sept 19, 2026) $69.99 (list $79.99) Main strength Dimmer knob, daisy-chain, 5-year warranty at a starter price Main limitation Current version lists Bridgelux diodes, a change from earlier Samsung-based versions
Mars Hydro TS1000 (sold elsewhere) Best fit Budget all-rounder for 2’×2’–2.5’×2.5’ Actual watts 150W ±5% Coverage (and conditions) Manufacturer rating: 2.3’×2.3’ veg, 2’×2’ flower Price (checked Sept 19, 2026) $79.99 (list $109.99) Main strength Proven starter light; ETL-listed; 5-year warranty Main limitation Bluetooth dimming requires a separately sold module
AC Infinity IONFRAME EVO6 (sold elsewhere) Best fit Step-up choice for 4’×4’ tents Actual watts 500W Coverage (and conditions) Manufacturer rating: 5’×5’ veg, 4’×4’ flower Price (checked Sept 19, 2026) $579.00 Main strength Samsung LM301H EVO diodes; built-in dimming and scheduling; ETL-certified Main limitation 2-year warranty is the shortest in this guide
Green Light Depot 660W Shark Series Best fit High-yield 4’×4’–5’×5’ tents and hobby rooms Actual watts 660W Coverage (and conditions) Manufacturer-rated 5’×5’; independent PPFD map not yet published Price (checked Sept 19, 2026) $629.95 (list $699.95) Main strength Fanless passive cooling (silent), IP65 wet rating, 0–10V dimming, 5-year warranty Main limitation Highest power draw for its footprint here; certifications beyond IP65 not listed on the product page
Green Light Depot 960W Shark Series Best fit Commercial rooms and multi-fixture grids Actual watts 960W Coverage (and conditions) Manufacturer-rated 5’×5’; independent PPFD map not yet published Price (checked Sept 19, 2026) $809.95 (list $899.95) Main strength Most total light potential in this lineup; IP65; UL, cUL, and DLC (manufacturer-stated); 5-year warranty Main limitation Far more light than a hobby tent needs; verified photometric data not yet published

Where a cell says “manufacturer rating” or “manufacturer-stated,” that figure comes from the maker’s product page rather than independent measurement.

The picks in detail

Barrina T5 strips — best budget LED grow lights for seed starting and shelves

Who should buy it: Anyone starting vegetable or flower seeds indoors, or lighting a multi-shelf plant stand, on a tight budget. Each 4-ft, 20W strip clips or screws under a shelf, and up to eight connect in series to one outlet — an eight-light pack runs $92.99 at Barrina (about $11.60 per light). Low-wattage strips like these sit close to trays — University of Minnesota Extension recommends keeping lights 4–6 inches above seedlings and raising them as plants grow.

Who should skip it: Anyone growing fruiting or flowering crops to harvest. Strips this size don’t deliver the intensity a tomato, pepper, or flowering canopy needs. Note that Barrina’s product page does not state a warranty; we sell nothing in this category, so this recommendation is simply what the research supports.

Spider Farmer SF1000 — best for a first small grow tent

Who should buy it: First-time tent growers with one or two plants. The SF1000 draws a true 100W, has a dimming knob, daisy-chains to future lights, and carries a 5-year warranty — unusual at its $69.99 price. Spider Farmer rates it for 3’×3’ vegetative coverage and 2’×2’ in flower, and lists 2.5 µmol/J efficiency, which is respectable for a board light at this price. Sold by Spider Farmer and garden retailers, not by us.

Who should skip it: Growers who specifically want Samsung diodes — the current listing specifies Bridgelux LEDs, a change from earlier SF1000 versions, so check the version before buying. Anyone flowering plants across more than a 2’×2’ footprint should size up instead.

Mars Hydro TS1000 — best budget LED grow light for small spaces and grow tents

Who should buy it: Beginners who want one inexpensive light for a small space. The TS1000 draws 150W (±5%), and Mars Hydro rates it for 2.3’×2.3’ vegetative and 2’×2’ flowering coverage with a manufacturer-stated 343 µmol/s output. It is ETL-listed, carries a 5-year warranty, and sells for $79.99 direct from Mars Hydro. It has been a default starter recommendation across grower communities for years, and at this price it remains an easy one. We don’t sell it.

Who should skip it: Anyone who expects to outgrow a 2.5’×2.5’ footprint soon — buy for the space you’ll actually have — and anyone who wants app control out of the box, since the 2026 version’s Bluetooth dimming requires a separately purchased module.

AC Infinity IONFRAME EVO6 — a strong step-up for 4’×4’ tents

Who should buy it: Growers outfitting a 4’×4’ tent who want modern diodes and built-in controls. The EVO6 draws 500W using Samsung LM301H EVO chips plus deep-red, far-red, and UV diodes, is rated by AC Infinity for 5’×5’ vegetative and 4’×4’ flowering coverage, and includes ten dimming levels with sunrise/sunset scheduling; it’s ETL-certified and sells for $579 at AC Infinity. Sold by AC Infinity, not by us.

Who should skip it: Buyers who weigh warranties heavily. Its 2-year coverage is the shortest of any light in this guide — the four others with stated warranties all carry 5 years.

Green Light Depot 660W Shark Series — best high-yield LED grow light for 4’×4’ to 5’×5’ spaces

 

Who should buy it: Growers chasing maximum harvest from a 4’×4’ or 5’×5’ footprint who also care about noise and moisture. We stock this light, so weigh our view accordingly — but the reasons for the “high-yield” label are concrete: at 660W it delivers the most wall power of any light in this guide below commercial scale, its fanless passive cooling means zero noise and no fan to fail, its IP65 rating handles humid rooms and splashes, and 0–10V dimming lets you run seedlings and veg at partial power in the same tent. It ships with a 5-year warranty and full-spectrum output covering seedling through flower, and is in stock at $629.95 (list $699.95), with same-day shipping on orders before 2 p.m. and local pickup in Lawrenceville, Georgia.

Who should skip it: Beginners with one or two plants, anyone lighting a 2’×2’ or 3’×3’ space, and houseplant growers — it is far more light (and electricity) than those situations can use. The dimmed-down running cost still exceeds a right-sized 100–150W panel. Buyers who need published PPFD maps or certification paperwork for rebate filings should contact us first; the product page currently lists IP65 but not the fixture’s full certification documents.

Green Light Depot 960W Shark Series — commercial-grade LED grow lights for larger operations

Who should buy it: Commercial growers and serious home operations running multi-fixture grids over dense canopies. The 960W Shark is the highest-output fixture we carry, built with the same fanless aluminum construction and IP65 wet rating as the 660W, with 0–10V dimming for room-level control, manufacturer-stated UL, cUL, and DLC certification, and a 5-year warranty. It’s in stock at $809.95 (list $899.95). For layouts, fixture counts, and spacing in a specific room, contact us before you buy — spacing matters more than any single fixture spec at this scale.

Who should skip it: Hobby growers in tents of 4’×4’ or smaller, full stop. We’re also finishing verification of this model’s published light-output figures against test documentation, so until updated photometrics are posted, treat wattage, build, coverage rating, and warranty as the reliable numbers.

Match the light to what you’re growing


Wattage tiers only make sense against what the plants actually need, and those needs vary more than most spec sheets admit.

Houseplants and other indoor plants

Many popular houseplants are low- or medium-light species that do fine near the right window, so the best LED grow lights for indoor plants are often the smallest ones — or none at all. University of Minnesota Extension groups houseplants into low-light plants such as pothos, snake plant, and peace lily (roughly 50–150 µmol/m²/s), medium-light plants such as begonias and rubber plants (150–250 µmol/m²/s), and high-light plants such as cacti and citrus (250 µmol/m²/s and up). For a plant or two in a dark corner, a small full-spectrum bulb or bar light covers the gap; foliage plants generally want 12–14 hours of light a day at 12–24 inches, while flowering houseplants prefer 14–16 hours at 6–12 inches, per the same UMN guidance. A tent-sized fixture pointed at a pothos is wasted money and stressed foliage.

Culinary herbs and leafy greens

Herbs and greens sit in the middle of the intensity range. University of Missouri Extension cites lettuce as needing 250–350 µmol/m²/s of light at the canopy, and UMN Extension suggests 12–14 hours daily at 6–12 inches for hydroponic lettuce and herbs. A single quality 100–150W panel or two to three T5-style strips will keep a countertop or shelf herb garden productive year-round.

Seedlings and propagation

Seedlings need long days more than they need brute intensity: 16–18 hours daily, with lights kept just 4–6 inches above the trays and raised as plants grow, per UMN Extension. Stretchy, pale, “leggy” seedlings are the classic sign the light is too weak or too far away. Inexpensive linkable strips over each shelf serve this job better than one powerful fixture, because every tray gets even light from close range.

Shelf and rack gardens

Vertical setups multiply growing area but leave only 12–24 inches of headroom per level, which rules out big fixtures. Low-profile strips or bars mounted under each shelf are the right shape, and LEDs suit racks in a way high-heat lamps never did — MU Extension notes LED and fluorescent fixtures are appropriate for shelf systems partly because they won’t cook the shelf above them. Wire the strips to one timer so the whole rack runs the same schedule.

Grow tents

Match the light’s flowering coverage rating to the tent, not its vegetative rating — a light rated “3’×3’ veg, 2’×2’ flower” is a 2’×2’ light for anyone growing to harvest. Reflective tent walls help edge intensity, but they don’t turn a small light into a big one. As a starting budget for fruiting crops in a tent, growers commonly plan on roughly 25–40 watts of actual draw per square foot with modern LEDs (that’s the range every tent-sized pick in this guide lands in), and about half that for leafy crops. Ventilation still matters: LEDs convert more power to light than older lamp types, but a 660W fixture in a closed tent adds real heat that an exhaust fan needs to remove.

Larger and commercial spaces

At commercial scale the question stops being “which light?” and becomes “how many, at what spacing, controlled how?” Total daily light is the metric to plan around: Purdue Extension classifies fruiting crops like tomatoes and peppers as very-high-light crops needing a daily light integral above 18 mol/m²/day, versus 6–12 for medium-light ornamentals. Commercial buyers should look for 0–10V dimming (so banks of fixtures follow one controller), verified photometric reports, DLC listing where utility rebates apply, wet-location ratings like IP65 for humid rooms, and a warranty backed by a company that answers the phone. This is the tier the 960W Shark SFeries is built for.

What “full spectrum” and the spec-sheet numbers actually mean

You only need five terms to read a grow light listing intelligently.

Full spectrum. Light covering the whole 400–700 nanometer range plants use for photosynthesis, usually from white LEDs, often supplemented with deep-red diodes. Blue wavelengths encourage compact, leafy growth and red supports flowering, but a quality full spectrum LED grow light grows plants through every stage — UMN Extension notes white, balanced light suits most plants at any stage. Treat “full spectrum” as the baseline requirement, not a differentiator.

Watts. How much electricity the fixture draws. Watts predict your power bill, not plant growth — two 100W lights can differ meaningfully in light output, and marketing names like “1000W” often bear no relation to the true draw of the fixture (a habit that frustrates experienced growers on every forum). Always find the actual draw figure; it’s the honest number, and it’s the one used in the cost math below.

PPF (photosynthetic photon flux). Total plant-usable light a fixture emits per second, in µmol/s, as MU Extension defines it. Bigger is better, but PPF says nothing about where that light lands.

PPFD (photosynthetic photon flux density). Light actually arriving at a given point on the canopy, in µmol/m²/s. This is the number plant requirements are written in — the UMN houseplant ranges and MU lettuce figures above are PPFD values. Because intensity falls off toward fixture edges, a single “max PPFD” number measured dead center flatters any light; a full PPFD map at a stated hanging height is what’s worth trusting.

PPE (photosynthetic photon efficacy) and DLI. PPE is PPF divided by watts — light produced per unit of electricity, in µmol/J. Current quality LED fixtures typically advertise roughly 2.3–3.1 µmol/J; higher means lower operating cost for the same light. DLI (daily light integral) is the total light a plant receives across a day, in mol/m²/day — intensity × hours — and it’s how Purdue Extension expresses crop needs. A dimmer light run longer can hit the same DLI as a stronger light run shorter, within the photoperiod limits your plant tolerates.

Coverage, placement, and heat: why wattage alone can’t pick your light


Two fixtures with identical wattage can perform very differently over real plants. Efficacy decides how much light the watts become; the optics and layout decide where it goes. Bar-style lights spread diodes across the whole footprint for flatter, more even coverage, while single-panel “board” lights concentrate intensity at the center and fall off toward the edges — fine for one plant, wasteful for a full tent. Hanging height trades intensity for evenness in both designs: raise the light and coverage widens while PPFD drops everywhere.

That’s why placement advice has to be conditional, and why this guide gives no universal hanging height. Follow the manufacturer’s height chart for your specific fixture and growth stage — the maker measured its own optics, and charts differ even between same-wattage lights. The extension figures cited above (4–6 inches for strip lights over seedlings, 12–24 inches for foliage plants under small fixtures) apply to low-wattage lighting; a 500–960W fixture runs much farther from the canopy, at distances the manufacturer specifies. Then let the plants vote: bleached, curled, or crispy upper leaves mean too much light too close, and stretching means too little. Dimming earns its cost here — a dimmable fixture at 50% over seedlings becomes a full-power flowering light later, which is cheaper than owning two lights.

Heat is the quieter spec. LEDs waste less energy as heat than older lamp types, but hundreds of watts in a sealed tent still raise temperatures; budget for an exhaust fan in any enclosed high-wattage setup. Passively cooled fixtures like the Shark Series trade fan noise (and fan failures) for a large aluminum heatsink — worth having in living spaces, bedrooms, and anywhere quiet matters.

What an LED grow light costs to run

Worked example — clearly labeled, with the assumptions shown. The formula: watts ÷ 1,000 × hours per day × days × electricity rate. Assume the 660W Shark Series at full power, 12 hours per day (a common flowering-stage schedule), for a 30-day month, at the average US residential electricity rate of 18.34¢/kWh (EIA, June 2026):

660 ÷ 1,000 = 0.66 kW 0.66 kW × 12 hours × 30 days = 237.6 kWh 237.6 kWh × $0.1834 = $43.58 per month

The same formula at the same schedule gives about $9.90/month for a 150W panel, and about $1.76/month for a single 20W shelf strip on a 16-hour seedling schedule (0.02 kW × 16 × 30 × $0.1834). Your rate will differ from the national average — check your utility bill and substitute it — and dimming, shorter photoperiods, or vegetative-stage schedules all lower the number. The lesson holds at every scale: over a multi-year life, electricity rivals or exceeds the purchase price, which is why efficacy (µmol/J) deserves as much attention as the price tag.

FAQs: Choosing the Best LED Grow Light

How many watts do I need for my space?

For fruiting or flowering crops in a tent, plan roughly 25–40 watts of actual draw per square foot with a modern LED — about 100–150W for 2’×2’, 400–650W for 4’×4’ — and roughly half that for herbs and leafy greens. Seedlings and houseplants need far less; see the situation guide above. Watts are a budgeting shortcut, not a growth guarantee: PPFD at your canopy is the number that decides results.

What is PPFD and why does it matter?

PPFD is the amount of plant-usable light actually landing on a square meter of canopy each second, measured in µmol/m²/s. It matters because plant light requirements are published in PPFD — lettuce at 250–350 µmol/m²/s, low-light houseplants at 50–150 — so it’s the only spec that connects a fixture to what your plants need, at the height you’ll actually hang it.

Should I buy dimmable grow lights?

Usually, yes. Dimming lets one fixture serve seedlings, vegetative growth, and flowering at appropriate intensities, protects young plants under a light sized for harvests, and cuts electricity use during the weeks full power isn’t needed. Skip it only in fixed single-purpose setups, like a strip light permanently over a seedling shelf.

Can I use these lights for all plant types?

A full-spectrum white LED will grow nearly anything — the real question is whether the intensity and daily duration suit the plant. The same fixture that flowers a pepper will scorch a fern unless it’s dimmed or raised. Match the light’s strength to the most demanding plant you actually grow, then adjust height, dimmer, and hours for everything else.

How long should a grow light run each day?

It depends on the plant: University of Minnesota Extension recommends 16–18 hours for seedlings, 12–14 for herbs, greens, and foliage houseplants, and 14–16 for flowering houseplants. Photoperiod-sensitive crops flower on their own clock and need genuine dark periods, so follow crop-specific guidance there. Whatever the schedule, put the light on a timer — consistency beats any particular number.

Do LED grow lights use a lot of electricity?

Small ones, no; large ones, meaningfully. The cost scales directly with actual watts × hours: a 20W shelf strip costs under $2 a month at the national average rate, while a 660W fixture on a 12-hour schedule runs about $44, the worked example above shows the math so you can plug in your own light and rate.

Is a commercial-grade light worth it for a hobby grower?

Below a 4’×4’ space, almost never, a right-sized panel grows the same plants for a fraction of the purchase and running cost. Commercial-grade features pay off when you scale: wet-location ratings for humid rooms, 0–10V control across banks of fixtures, DLC listing where utility rebates apply, and service departments that honor multi-year warranties. Experienced growers consistently say warranty support matters more than the last decimal of efficacy — buy from someone who will still answer in year four.

How we chose these lights

This guide is research-based. We compared manufacturer specification sheets and current pricing (all checked September 19, 2026), horticultural lighting guidance from the University of Minnesota, University of Missouri, and Purdue University extension services, and recurring reliability and support themes from experienced-grower communities. We have not laboratory-tested these fixtures, and we don’t claim to have; specs labeled “manufacturer-stated” are the maker’s numbers, not our measurements. GreenLight Depot sells the Shark Series grow lights recommended here and earns nothing on the four lights sold elsewhere. We update this guide as pricing and documentation change.

The bottom line

Buy for the space and plants you have, not the harvest you’re imagining: strips for seedlings and shelves, a 100–150W panel for a first small tent, and stepping up to serious wattage only when a 4’×4’ or larger canopy will actually use it. If that’s where you are, the 660W and 960W Shark Series are the lights we stock and stand behind with a 5-year warranty — and if you’re planning a larger room, talk to us about fixture counts and spacing before you spend anything.